Help - Blurry Fonts?

Moderators: MamaK321, ACOT Employee

PharmDAmy
Cherry Blossom
Gallery: 12

Help - Blurry Fonts?

Post by PharmDAmy »

I am working on my son's birthday invitations tonight and have a question that I hope someone can help me with. I normally type everything in Microsoft Word and print from there. However, I am using an outline font and am using Photoshop Elements to color it in. I found instructions online that told me how to do this. My problem is that the font is appearing blurry on my screen and when I print it out. At a large font size, it appears as it normally should. It's normal in MS Word at any font size. What am I doing wrong? Can anyone help me fix what I'm doing or is it just something that is inevitable. The font is a True Type Font that I downloaded off the Internet. When I choose to print, it does tell me that the image will print at less than 220 ppi at the selected size.

Any help would be appreciated. I am still learning my way around all the things Photoshop Elements will do.

Thanks!
TheresaND
Digital Designers
Gallery: 102

Re: Help - Blurry Fonts?

Post by TheresaND »

This is very odd and I'm not sure why a font would do this. Fonts inherintely size up and down without issue, usually.

What is the font you're using and what size is it? Is it also blurry at a smaller size?
Theresa Hernandez, Digital Designer at ACOT & NDISB
http://ndisb.blogspot.com/
MamaK321
Cherry Addict
Gallery: 1010

Post by MamaK321 »

do they Theresa? I was thinking that the font must have been designed on a small scale and when enlarged and printed, was pixelated. I've had that happen before where it looks fine on the screen but prints skewed.
Image Image
AmyTeets
Digital Designers
Gallery: 368

Post by AmyTeets »

Is this before or after it's been rastersized?
Amy Teets Designs

My Blog
Facebook
Semper Fi

Snag Me!
AnnOminous
Chocolate Covered Cherry
Gallery: 211

Post by AnnOminous »

I'm not really understanding what is going on.