I'm wondering....(job)

Moderator: ACOT Employee

scraptag
Cherry Cola
Gallery: 567

I'm wondering....(job)

Post by scraptag »

So, I have been a sahm since 2001. My kids are older and I would like to get a part time job that actually pays something. I have been trying to get accounting training, cause I know that is something I can do, I just don't have the certs or work experience, and everyone wants someone who is "experienced". Everytime I try to take classes, something happens (like they cancel the class, or I get half way through and they cancel the second half) so stupid. Anyways, in my former career I was a Customs Broker for importing. I have a license that I have kept up with U.S. Customs, and everything. The problem is...I just got an email for a job opening near me in the import department doing a job similar to what my previous career was. And I have always wanted to work for the Importer instead of the broker. But it's a full time job, which is why I have been looking into accounting, because there are always part time jobs in that field. I really feel like I should apply, because it's the perfect job for me, but I feel like I'm not ready to just jump back into the job market full time. It was such an adjustment to stay home full time, and I really like not having to deal with all the stress, but....it's the perfect job. What would you do? Would you apply and see where it leads. I mean, they probably want someone with recent experience anyways, right? Or would you not even try, and just stick to the plan?
Cherry Jubilee

Re: I'm wondering....(job)

Post by »

I would be inclined to take the full time job. It sounds like it's something you will thoroughly enjoy. It will be an adjustment for your family, for sure, but you will all adapt.
amberella
Cherry Bomb
Gallery: 39

Post by amberella »